Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Two days ago it finally got warm. This is going to be my first year beekeeping. Never seen many bees here, and the closest beekeeper is six miles away. So for the hell of it I put out some sugar syrup. A lone bee showed up and would come back like clock work every seven minutes. Yesterday about fifteen, today well over one hundred coming and going. It seemed that they could not be going far. It got me thinking a should build a swarm box ASAP.

Question one. Which would be better four frame or five?

Question two. Entrance hole size and location?

Question three. This is my first year so have no old comb to use. I do have plastic rite cell. Would it be a good idea to spray it with sugar water with lemon grass in it.

I have a good location I can put it in that was in the flight path. A tree where I can put up ten feet. Any other tips to make this successful?

·
Registered
692 Posts
Two days ago it finally got warm. This is going to be my first year beekeeping. Never seen many bees here, and the closest beekeeper is six miles away. So for the hell of it I put out some sugar syrup. A lone bee showed up and would come back like clock work every seven minutes. Yesterday about fifteen, today well over one hundred coming and going. It seemed that they could not be going far. It got me thinking a should build a swarm box ASAP.
Tom Seeley's work describes what was optimum in his experiments. From memory-

Question one. Which would be better four frame or five?
Approx. 40 liter volume which is fairly close to one deep box.

Question two. Entrance hole size and location?
About an inch, but I have had luck with smaller and a bit bigger. South side.

Question three. This is my first year so have no old comb to use. I do have plastic rite cell. Would it be a good idea to spray it with sugar water with lemon grass in it.