Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just got a call from neighbor and they have a swarm of bees on the ground - it has been there for 4 days?????????? I am just getting started and this will new to me.... would I need smoke? will wear a siut to start with and do I sweep them into a hive box and leave it over night? Ideas..... fast :D

·
Registered
65 Posts
Prop the box with frames up above them without a bottom. They will probably be in the box within 30 minutes. They love climbing up into a dark area for some reason.

If they've been there for four days, they might be a little upset, but if they are still balled up and not flying, they'll be nice. You probably won't have to bother them much. Might wear something when it comes time to collect them.

·
Registered
324 Posts
Yeah Three Bears, you can put a set up hive on the ground and I usually put a drop or two of QF or lemon grass oil in the hive and they will go in. I had a friend of mine that had a swarm on the ground and he called me to ask what to do so that is what I told him to do. I was going to post a video of it that he sent me on my phone but couldn't firgure how to do it.

·
Registered
1,493 Posts
Yup, just place a complete hive with even one frame of comb in it on the ground with the entrance touching the swarm and they will rush in like shoppers to a Black Friday sale!! I have even don't this to a swarm that was too high up in a tree for me to get, laid out a white sheet on the ground, shook the branch as hard as I could and the cluster dropped onto the sheet, I placed the hive next to the majority and they all went on in.

·
Registered
357 Posts