Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year with bees. I have two hives from package bees that I picked up on 5/22/10. One hive is very strong with a tremendous amount of bees while the other is not quite as active.

The strong hive has filled the brood chamber and second large 10 frame hive body completely. The second hive body is all honey. The bees started bearding on the outside of the hive so I added a honey super and a queen excluder. I also raised the inner cover for ventilation. The bees weren't bearding so much as first but then started in again. I've read up on this and thought well, the bees know best. It has been warm in Upstate NY although the last week hasn't been bad. The new honey super is not full but they're drawing out comb.

Today I was mowing the lawn and I clipped the side of a swarm on the ground. It was about 200 bees. The bearding on the outside of my hive was intense but they were 8 ft from this swarm on the ground. The queen was with the swarm on the ground. I got out the smoker, broke up the bearding bees on the outside of the hive, pulled apart the brood chamber and realized that queen cells were being built in between the first and second hive bodies. I probably split apart atleast a half dozen queen cells.

I put the whole mess back together and realized I didn't know enough to deal with this situation at the moment. The small swarm on the ground with the queen was broken up and the queen either flew off or went back to the hive.

About 2 hours later the bearding has commenced. Any advice is appreciated because I'm at a loss.

I'm thinking I should be ready to capture the swarm. If so, what equipment should I have?

·
Registered
5 Posts