Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was able to do a fairly specific inspection today...63 degrees and I found what I thought were queens cells and larvae. Since this is my first time seeing this I wasn't sure. The cells were "kinda" peanut looking but I really couldn't tell because they were attached to the bottom of the top deep frame and the top of the bottom deep frame. I did scrape them off and both large white larvae and white juice came out of the cells. I hope I did the right thing.

I did find the queen, and there was different stages of brood, but not much. I assumed the colony may feel she isn't doing her job and was trying to supersede? or are they trying to swarm? I thought it may be too early for that?

Also, they had about 3 full frames of capped honey in the top box and a couple frames with nothing but a very little half drawn comb. The remaining was capped and un-capped brood (about 60 % - 70%).

I did add another meduim super just in case they needed the room. I don't think I need to feed because of the stores look OK. I'm not sure if I should re-queen, but even if I do queens around here will not be available until end of April/May.

This is my first season with a strong hive and I'm seeing all kinds of different things that I not confident I'm reading correctly and acting accordingly.

With all the above being said I need some advise please.

·
Registered
817 Posts
Well from what I read you look like you did have supersedure cells. I would have left them alone and let the bees raise another queen since they know that she might be failing since she should have about three or more frames full of brood. You can also use the supersedure cells to make more hives. Your old queen might be hurt from not being warm enough this winter and will slowly lose her ability to lay fertile eggs. She may also not have mated properly.