Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How often should I check for swarm cells? My mentor tells me to check eack week. I am new at this but that sounds to often to me but he has had bees a lot longer than me. Any coment would be helpful

·
Registered
2,570 Posts
I have heard and read every 7 to 10 days. If you have established colonies they really are inclined to swarm, and on the bee course I took at the U. of M. they recommended checking for swarm cells every 7 to 10 days in swarm season and reversing the two deep bodies that are used for brood.
As I understand it, this disrupts the bees ability to make a honey cap above the brood nest which seems to be a big factor in swarm preparations.
This year the weather is messed up. My 4 hives all overwintered well and were bursting with bees so I split the 3 busiest of them on April 23rd, adding caged queens. On May 3rd one of the parent colonies was producing swarm cells, and I split that hive again.
As I was looking through my hives frame by frame it lead me to a question related to yours. How do those with many hives check for swarm cells? Do they lift each deep and peer into queen cups on the bottom of the frames and see if there are larva in them? :scratch:
I can't believe they have the time to check each individual frame. In my Beesource readings I have seen people say that as a rule initial swarm preps by the bees involve rearing numerous queen larva, versus 5 or less if it is a supercedure. So as a 3rd year beek I am interested in learning if it really is as simple for the veterans to just do a cursory peek and, if there are a lot of cells being reared intervene then.
So in addition to Merlyn's question of How Often? I would also ask: How? Thanks, Adrian.

·
Registered
2,274 Posts