Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to beekeeping having purchased my first nuc in March, 2020. We have learned a lot and having fun.

I wanted to do a split of the one hive but only recently felt confident to do so. Knowing that conditions and timing for splits are different around the country (all beekeeping is local), I decided to take the chance and try a walk-away split. I figured I would learn from a success or failure. Being in the extreme north end of the Sacramento Valley in California, we are hot, dry, low humidity and typically a lingering autumn season. It isn't unusual for the weather to not feel wintery until after Thanksgiving. I knew the weather would hold for the split but was uncertain about a new queen getting mated. Below are the notes from the split: .....

8/25/2020 --- Took 2 frames brood/eggs/larvae, 2 frames food resources, one frame partially drawn foundation, one shake nurse bees, from my one hive.
Frames were put in a plastic Pro-Nuc box with modified entrance (see photos)
Installed one Apivar strip between the 2 brood frames
Added 1/2 of a pollen patty on top of frames and fed 1:1 sugar syrup via the opening provided in the Pro-Nuc.

8/28 ----------Checked the brood frames and saw at least 3 queen cells with larvae and royal jelly.
Starting to feel like a kid waiting for Christmas.

9/2 -----------Observed foragers taking pollen in

9/7 ----------- Pulled one frame and saw a queen cell with the side chewed out and a dead queen inside. Quickly closed the nuc.

9/8 -----------Nuc getting robbed. I placed a wet beach towel over the nuc and put my hose-end lawn sprinkler "raining" on the nuc. The frenzy stopped within 1/2 hour and all was good by dusk.
I have since wondered if this robbing activity was something else related to having a new queen in the hive?????

9/24 ---------Checked nuc this morning and see lots of eggs and larvae. Yeah!!!!