Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
the reaction is localized to the hand. I can breathe fine, no problem there. The top of my hand is puffy, itchy and the skin is tight. Last year the doc gave me prednisone. I'd rather not go that route this time. Any suggestions?
Thank you

·
Registered
246 Posts
As a novice, I cannot speak from experience.

But I think Hydrocortisone (May have a different name over in the US - may even be the same thing you got last time.) or some allgery-pills may do the trick.

But beware that you will get sleepy and should not drive etc.
Watch a nice movie instead and take a nap at the sofa.:p

·
Registered
692 Posts
I took a hit to the center of the bottom of my nose Sat. It hurt so bad it almost brought tears to my eyes. The pain only lasted about 5 minutes. I took some Sudafed decongestant. The only effect was slight swelling of cheeks, nose, and upper lip. I don't normally have much reaction other than a little swelling, whether it is on the hands or head. The allergy pills helped.

Next time I will remember to zip the veil, especially when working a crowded overflowing hive!

·
Registered
77 Posts
Benadryl helps some with homeopathic "Apis Mellifica" 30C pellets.
I have only been stung twice thus far. It has taken me three days for the swelling to subside and then the area is still itchy for two more days after that. Remember,any time you are stung on the hands you should remove all rings promptly.
Sorry for your discomfort.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thank you to all who answered. Good thing I didn't have any rings on! I guess I'll be sleeping good tonight with the Benedryl I'll be taking.
I had forgoten about the homeopathy. How many of the 30c apis m do you take?
Di

·
Registered
4,487 Posts
I'm finding the stings I'm getting at this time of year are more painful, with more swelling, about an hour after getting stung.