Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi folks
I am brand new at this so if what I am talking about is a rookie mistake, just let me know. At this point in life I have thick skin.
I bought a new English hive last April and a NUC with two medium brood supers. Moved the bees over and all was well. In late summer we opened the hive and bees were everywhere packed in the hive. We added a queen excluder and another medium super with he thoughts that crowding as what we believed was an issue. In late March we had several warm days with no visible bees. Out of concern we took the top off the hive and there were no bees in the hive, no dead bees under....... nothing. There was some honey left in both the supers below the excluder.

We figured we had somehow made our first mistake as bee keepers and all had left for better dwellings.

Today I walked out and bees are coming and going flying in and out of the hive. Will bees come back after seemingly abandoning an active hive?
This may be such a basic question and if so we apologize. Would someone like to share any thoughts on what we might be seeing.

Thanks so much in advance

Ricky

·
Registered
3,291 Posts
Sounds like a swarm moved in. It's relatively common.

If you still had honey they could be robbing it, but typically they will rob it out earlier in the season before nectar is available.

·
Super Moderator
Aylett, VA 10-frame double deep Langstroth
6,888 Posts
Burns375 is probably correct, a swarm moved in. We have just entered our swarm season here. PM me your address and I'll come by and take a look at what is going on.

PS. I live in Aylett, but work downtown just off Maury St.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Update