Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I did a check of my six hives today and found that one has died (apparently due to starvation) and one looks to be really struggling. The rest of the hives seem to be doing fairly well considering the harsh winter we're having hear in Maine.

The hive that's struggling appears to have a very low population. I'd say the cluster is about the size of a softball. I'm still a novice beekeeper (this is my 2nd winter) but my gut is telling me this hive won't survive until spring. It just doesn't seem like it has the critical mass necessary to survive if we get another cold snap.

My question is what, if anything, would you do in this situation?

Also, I noticed that several of the hives have some heavy brown spotting the roofs, landing board, and on the front of hive. How much spotting is typical? I'm worried my hives may have nosema.

·
Registered
2,862 Posts
The hive that's struggling appears to have a very low population. I'd say the cluster is about the size of a softball. I'm still a novice beekeeper (this is my 2nd winter) but my gut is telling me this hive won't survive until spring. It just doesn't seem like it has the critical mass necessary to survive if we get another cold snap.
Make sure there is feed available to them. I would put some fondant or sugar over the cluster that they can contact no matter the temp. I've seen small clusters make it through some bad cold as long as they have feed. They've made it this far.

Dysentery is not generally caused by nosema ceranae, which is the most prevalent nosema. I took some samples of spotting and put them under the scope last year and there was no nosema.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. I have a candyboard just above the cluster so hopefully they do ok. They have moved themselves into a corner which is a little concerning but I'll just hope for the bets I suppose.