Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to beekeeping -- totally new. I installed a package on April 26th in a Warre hive. Weather has been pleasant spring weather for Colorado with highs in 60s and 70s, but we will be getting snow tomorrow and the forecast is for three days of cold. A spring cold snap, to me, seems challenging for a package of bees with a diminishing population and brood comb duties. Is there anything I can/should be doing to help?

·
Registered
1,943 Posts
A good wind break will help. If it snows make sure the entrance doesn't get blocked. A top entrance is the berries in areas with snow. Pretty new package will be okay as far as a diminishing population.Don't feed if daytime temperatures dropped down to 50 or lower.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks. Hive has good windbreaks, but highs will be below 50 for next three days, dropping below freezing at night. I am concerned with how this cold will effect the various stages of brood. Ahhh, this beekeeeping comes with a lot of anxiety. . . hope that diminishes with time.

·
Registered
2,064 Posts
Your bees will not create any brood more then the bees can cover and keep warm. This is one of the reasons it takes a bit for packages to get started good. As long as you've given them some syrup in the past few days, they should be fine for a cold snap.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,120 Posts
The biggest risk to a package in cold weather is starvation, since they can't take syrup below 50 F or so. If you heat the syrup once a day, they can tank up and get through to the next day without starvation...

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·