Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ordered 4lbs of Italian bees today. What I am wanting to do is split the package 2lbs and 2lbs. I have never done this before and I need some advise. I want to start two new hives. I was told I could do it this way but not much detail was giving to me on how (the important part). I understand how to install a package just not sure about the divide process.Thanks

·
Registered
2,488 Posts
Couple of problems. One is a package only arrives with one queen, so you will need another queen from somewhere. Two, a package needs at least a month to get up and going because you are starting with no brood. During this time you can expect some die off but with four lbs there should be strong enough to make it. With 2 lbs you are really putting them behind and will really have to pour the feed on them to get the hives strong enough for the winter. Remember, they will only produce enough brood that the bees can cover, so by reducing the bees they will be producing less brood until the population gets built up.

I would order up a second package if you want two hives. Or...build the first one up really strong and by mid summer you may be able to make a strong split soon enough to have too good hives going into winter.

good luck.

·
Registered
1,261 Posts
I would order up a second package if you want two hives. Or...build the first one up really strong and by mid summer you may be able to make a strong split soon enough to have too good hives going into winter.
I second ALPHA's advice

·
Registered
1,866 Posts
Wow, this is too weird. I was at a beginning beekeeper's course today at Eastern Missouri Beekeepers Association's bee seminar. The same question was asked and I answered pretty much the same way.