Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts
K

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi
I am a newbie here in SW MI. I am thinking of splitting my only hive next spring.

When would you think would be a good time to do this here? Just after the main honey flow?

Also what is the best way to do this? I've read the books and there seems to be a lot of ways to do this, and was wondering if there is any consesis on what is the best way to minimize productivity loss in the parent hive but also to maximize anti-swarming effect. Just throw a few of the frames in a box with frames to fill and move that into the old spot? Demaree? With a new queen on some brood? It seems like bees are versitile enough that they can recover pert'neer anything (with enough food)

Also, is it ok to keep the two near eachother?(during, after?)

Thanks,
Rick

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,108 Posts
You only have one hive? There are a lot of ways to do it.

If you only have one you get to choose between starting a nuc (just a couple of frames of brood and some honey and pollen) or an actual even split where you put half in one hive and half in the other. You also get to choose to let them raise a queen or buy one. If you go for the nuc, I'd let them raise one so you can watch. If you go for the even split you'll get a better production if you buy a queen because it will take them about three to four weeks to raise a queen, mate and have her start to lay.