Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
915 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been very successful rasing my own bees with the OTS method, however as many of you know this leaves a significant amount of time that the colony has no brood due to the new queen hatching and mating.

Has anyone done this:

Do an 3 frame split with the queen into a nuc, let the original hive develop their queen cells (do all of the OTS steps). Then after queen cells are set and ready to hatch start taking brood from the nuc and putting it with the original hive.

The idea would be to have a very strong hive with a brand new queen going right into the peak of nectar flow, again assuming the nuc would only be a brood factory for the production hive.

I have no experience with this method, just curious if anyone does. If not I may try it with one hive and see what happens.

·
Registered
99 Posts
This thought has been wandering around in my head as well. I don’t see why it wouldn’t work. Just keep trading drawn comb into the nuc as you pull out full brood frames.
Only thing is you would need to be careful not to weaken your nuc to much.

·
Registered
8,178 Posts
I think I get much the benefit you are looking for by pulling the queen with a two or frame split and putting her and the nuc above a queen excluder, a medium super and another queen excluder. This provides the conditions for raising in a quality emergency queen below and the split off queen having all the nurse bees she could possibly need to produce more brood and bees. When you have a queen laying below, Then again split the old queen off with a small split and your requeened parent colony is now past swarm season with a vigorous new queen. If the requeening fails, you recombine or try again. I am a believer in OTS but timing is everything and I often feel I hurt honey production because I time it poorly. This is my work around and go to swarm preventer.

·
Registered
2,773 Posts