Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have a hive, 2 deeps, that has historically been angry and mean. It is a second year hive and has requeened itself at least 3 times. It now appears to be hopelessly queenless. (all though it may have a virgin running around). It apparently has been queenless about 6 weeks. I have added frames of eggs and nothing.

Fast forward, I just purchased 3 queens that should arrive Wednesday. Does anyone have ideas on how I can add these queens to 3 splits so that I don't loose them? I know how to introduce new queens, I am just concerned about the aggressive behavior of this hive and it's history with queens

·
Registered
3,054 Posts
I have zero experience requeening a mean hive, but have read here that you will have better odds requeening if you are splitting the hive. If you have the resources, it might be prudent to use a push in cage in a frame of eggs/young brood with some empty cells to allow her to start laying before you release her. J

·
Premium Member
2,487 Posts
I am assuming that your hive has good stores and the queen didnt shut down laying for some other reason or has swarmed again and are waiting for their new queen. Of course you checked for laying workers; Use a bee “sieve” first before doing your splits, keep your eye out for a queen that might have DWV, who is a virgin and has the pheromones but might be sterile (from experience). Either one of those scenarios would explain no brood. With the sieve you would hopefully see her and remove her. If you have another few hives to donate some frames of brood and let them settle; that would be good to requeen the way Fivej mentioned.

·
Registered
2,400 Posts