Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I checked my bees today and when I came beside one of my hives i noticed a sour like smell. Does anyone have any ideas as to what it might be ?

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks !!
After i posted i did a search and found out the same thing. Another lesson learned.

·
Registered
683 Posts
bartrak, I'm just two hours up the road from you, and we've got the same. We had a great goldenrod bloom this year and the asters are stilling going strong. In the early morning, when the air is still, you can really smell it standing near the hives.

Richard

·
Registered
17 Posts
This is my first year of beekeeping and I'm glad I ran across some posts about the sour smell from aster/goldenrod before I actually smelled it this weekend in both my hives, otherwise I would have been very concerned. It does smell like old socks. :)

·
Registered
118 Posts
I haven't tasted it myself, but was in one of my hives yesterday doing last inspection and installing mouse guard before winter, and was a cross between smelly sock with a touch of a buttery smell hehe!

·
Registered
494 Posts
Friends, you may have missed the point. ;)

I can smell hive beetles when they have set up shop in a hive. And they make a sour, vaguely orange-y smell. If you smell/see/hear/taste/feel something off when you open a hive, investigate.

Good job being alert enough to sense changes in your hive.

Summer

·
Registered
297 Posts
Boy howdy am I glad I knew where to go to get this answer. Was out wondering when I should start to wind things down with the hives. The goldenrod is still strong down here thanks to the little bit of rain we've had.
Can't miss that smell. Guess I'll give them another week or two. 8 degrees right now and their busy.

·
Registered
5 Posts