Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Edit: sorry for the silly-long post. Didn't seem that long when writing it. I don't think this is scouting behavior but I'm a total noob. Only one bee at a time at the entrance. It lands, moves inside immediately, and it nor any other bee comes out until at least 20 measured seconds has passed; there's obviously not a lot of bees here. I think every one I've seen has at least some pollen with it...this can't possibly be a colony, though, right? Anyway, on with the silly-long post.

Hello, all. I looked around for about thirty mins and while there are tons of rabbit holes I could get lost in here, I didn't see anything too too similar to my issue. I live in central Virginia, US.

I'm not a bee keeper but have thought about it for years; I usually do hundreds of hours of research before taking on something like this, but it seems that perhaps bees have forced my hand...

I had a thin, local newspaper, folded over once, lying on a box located on my covered front porch for a few days, then noticed something fly out of it yesterday right at the fold (which makes a conveniently perfectly bee-sized hole between the layers of newspaper pages). As I watched for a few minutes, I was surprised to see what looked like a honey bee fly toward the hole, land, and promptly walk into the hole right at the fold.

Watching for a few more mins, I saw that bee leaving and another landing to repeat the process.

There is a VERY small place/space between the front and rear halves of this small newspaper; maybe only like 10" deep by less than one inch wide.

As far as I know, they've only been there for about two days, but I can imagine them outgrowing this space in no time. There doesn't seem to be many workers flying in and out right now, but I assume that, too, can change relatively quickly.