Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good Day all.
This is my first year in beekeeping. Am getting a package in a couple of weeks and will be assembling the hive boxes shortly. All is well except that I have this one nagging question and I can't seem to find a defiinitive answer.:scratch:

Do I use a Screened Bottom Board or a Solid Bottom board?

Thanks for your input.
Erik Anderson

·
Registered
386 Posts
I believe most will tell you to use a screened bottom board. I personally use solid bottom boards. SBB are nice to use to check your mite drop with and do provide the extra ventilation you need in July and August. They do not add to any significant amount to mite removal from the hive in my opinion and they are more of a pain in the butt to maintain as far as painting and such and are more expensive than a solid bottom board.

·
Registered
2,309 Posts
Plans on Bee Source show how to make a sbb http://www.beesource.com/build-it-yourself/ipm-screened-bottom-board/

I eliminated the bottom groove into which slides the closure, or the sticky board to test for mites. Instead, I build the sloped front stands, and nail a block on each side in the center of the side rails of the stand. Those scrap pieces of wood then supports the sticky board, or a piece of plywood for winter closure.
Regards,
Steven

·
Registered
3,711 Posts
Assemble and paint/weatherproof the Solid Bottom board if that is all you have now. For a new package there is plenty of time [early summer] to prepare and use a Screened bottom board later if you decide to use one.

Just a few years ago it seems that the screened boards were seperate items and were placed on the older solid boards. Now it looks like they are in one piece from the suppliers. Not sure about that though.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Ahhh...so you have a modified screen bottom board, basically a screen bottom with a winter feature. :applause:

·
Registered