Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in my second year and may get some honey this year. I MAY get some! Anyway, I have 4 hives this year and two started as nucs 2 as packages.

What equipment does a fella need to uncap and extract and bottle on a small scale? I see all the stuff in the catalogs and for the most part, that is the most expensive equipment in beekeeping. I just dont know where to start. I kinda need some input from folks that have been doing it for a bit.

If I can manage my bees through the winter, I would like to gradually expand the number of hives next year and so on. What are you all doing to extract on a smaller scale? I would also like to try some comb honey or chunk honey. I am only gonna maybe have one or two that make any this year, so we are not talking about much. Even for the next few years I probably wont be extracting 5 hives or so at the most. Just considering luck and nature!

Rob

·
Registered
374 Posts
I'm not aware of any way to extract without using a device that exerts centrifugal force. When I say "extract" I mean cutting the cappings, and removing the honey leaving the comb intact.

Short of having an extractor, you can squeeze the honey out of the comb using a homemade press. Or you can just harvest comb honey.

Or you can borrow/rent an extractor.

·
Registered
34 Posts