Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

Advantage to small cell/natural comb or not?

• I've been using small cell or natural comb for at least two years and see NO advantage to small cell

Votes: 10 14.7%
  • I've been using small cell or natural comb for at least two years and I DO see an advantage to small

Votes: 12 17.6%
  • I've been using small cell or natural comb, have nothing to compare it to, but AM losing hives to Va

Votes: 5 7.4%
  • I've been using small cell or natural comb, have nothing to compare it to, but am NOT losing hives t

Votes: 16 23.5%
  • I don't fit the categories of this study but want to see the results anyway.

Votes: 25 36.8%
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
535 Posts
I started out with plastic. 20 frames. Then I bought 50 sheets of small cell wax. These are all in various hives now. Once I found the bees worked foundationless first that's the way I went.

This foundation is spread over 9 hives now. Everything else is foundationless. I voted nothing to compare to but I've never lost a hive to mites.
I've never treated with anything
My bees are local ferel mutts.

·
Registered
813 Posts
I am just finishing up my first year as a beekeeper so voted that I didn't fit but have my bees on HSC and PF100.... 3 hives.... Lost one to a laying worker in the fall and the other 2 (Carni and Local Mutt) seem to be doing well so far....

·
Registered
7,975 Posts
I have been using small cell for four years and still find its efficacy against mites inconclusive is my category but I like the SC for additional reasons.

·
Registered
1,947 Posts
I am in the 'dont fit the categories' bunch, clicked on that one just so I could see the results. I have nothing to compare, yet.