Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,656 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How does use of small cell relate to catching swarms. Will caught swarms have to be regressed? Does that depend on whether they were feral or out of somebody's hive that had regular cell foundation? Is it a bad idea to put a caught swarm directly on small cell foundation?

Also, what would happen if I buy bees that are raised on small cell (such as from Fat/Beeman) and then put them on regular sized foundation?

I'm just starting out and I'm trying to decide whether to start will small cell or not, and these were just some of my random thoughts.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,530 Posts
ndvan

welcome to beesource
I learned about SC soon after starting my first hive in 05 and started moving towards it
In my mind, it's a no brainer
it's fairly easy, although it takes some time
the SC foundation only costs a little more
I'm not sure how well it works but some pretty experienced folks say it is a huge help with the mites, so far my bees seem to be doing great
as far as putting SC bees on regular foundation, I can't imagine why somebody would do that
have you seen bwranglers website?

http://bwrangler.litarium.com/

lot's of good info
also Michael Bush's site

http://bushfarms.com/bees.htm

both excellent resources

Dave

·
Registered
38 Posts
Hello,
ndvan, check your pm's.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,120 Posts
>How does use of small cell relate to catching swarms.

Little.

>Will caught swarms have to be regressed?

That would depend on where they came from of course.

>Does that depend on whether they were feral or out of somebody's hive that had regular cell foundation?

And how many generations from domestic they are. If they are only one, they will only be partially regressed.

> Is it a bad idea to put a caught swarm directly on small cell foundation?