Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in my second year of trying to manage my hives in single deep brood chambers. One of the challenges that I have noticed is trying to feed them. Because of my lifestyle and storage ability, I would like to use internal hive feeders and just leave them inside the hive all year round. The problem that I see is I have now reduced my brood chamber from 10 to 8 frames.

Does anyone who uses single deeps, year round, use internal feeders?

Does anyone who uses single deeps keep their hive at 8 frames only?

Is anyone managing in 8 frame singles?

Is 8 frames enough or have I created swarm machines?

For context, I am in Western PA.

·
Registered
1,750 Posts
I use a frame feeder all year round, but I use the Brother Adam-hive, which holds up to 13 Dadant sized frames (officially 12 frames).

In summer I do not use more than 4-7 frames. Wintering on 8 frames is ok. I like lots of stores before the winter, because the size of the winter cluster correlates with the winter stores. Bees adapt the size of their winter cluster to the winter stores they have. It makes a huge difference, if you have 30 kg or 35 kg of winter stores on. With 8 frames, you might consider leaving one honey super on. In winter and all year round.

Swarming is NOT increased with a reduced number of frames. The opposite. If you know the trick, the fewer brood frames, the better. One important thing is to put supers on very very early and you need lots of supers on. With some apiaries I super in February, in the midst of winter (where I live). You need to super ahead of the bees.

Just in short. It is well worth the try, because not only beekeeping in one deep is much more fun, it is less work, more honey. And stronger hives.

·
Registered
8 Posts