Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Temp is 63 in southern Indiana and I want to do my first inspection. And this is my first winter and my bees are Alive! Will they be in a good or bad mood after being cooped up all winter. Should I light up my smoker?

·
Super Moderator
11,161 Posts
Lighting your smoker and keeping it nearby is always a good idea. :)

As to what to do beyond having your smoker lit, I'd say that depends on your confidence in your level of protection, your tolerance for stings, and your beekeeping philosophy.

·
Registered
175 Posts
I'm a newbie, but I was under the impression that it's best to ALWAYS use smoke....Granted, some people get carried away, more is not always better, but a little smoke goes a long way in making life more pleasant for the beekeeper.

·
Registered
746 Posts
I'm a newbie, but I was under the impression that it's best to ALWAYS use smoke....Granted, some people get carried away, more is not always better, but a little smoke goes a long way in making life more pleasant for the beekeeper.
I don't think so. Sometimes bees are gentle as lambs and don't need smoke, so why ruin their day? But definitely a good idea to have smoke available.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys! I did smoke last summer/fall. I just didn't know if the bees were so happy to be out and about I could skip it today. Ok.... here I go. I have a frame of honey I saved in my freezer all winter that I can put in if they are out of stores. I so don't want them to die this close to spring. And I hear lots of stories of that happening this time of the year.

·
Registered
2,910 Posts