Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How many of you guys re-queen yearly and who only re-queens when she's done?
I have 40+ hives that still have last years queens. I haven't replaced them cause they're doing just as good or better than this years younger queens. I want to make sure they get a good start in Jan.

John

·
Registered
105 Posts
I'm a newbie, but I subscribe to the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" school of thought.

It helps that we have a mild climate, and that the bees have a pretty easy life in this part of the country.

·
Registered
34,542 Posts
I'm an oldbee and I couldn't agree more w/ the newbee. Fix what's broken. You'll spend less money and time. There may be some beekeepers who requeen annually. suttonbee, do you do that w/ your queencell applications? But I've never been around them.

Requeen the poor ones.

·
Registered
34,542 Posts
Good question Mike. We won't. But we should, shouldn't we. At least the better ones. We don't need to prolong the poor ones do we? Unless there is a benefit to the genetic diversity, which is something that we are hearing these days.

·
Registered
6,707 Posts
I certainly dont claim to be "an expert" on this but every queen is replaced every spring in our operation because its cheap, easy, convenient and the brood break is an excellent tool for varroa control. We rarely see drone layers any more. The question, in my mind, is really more about will she last another 12 months than it is about how shes doing today.

·
Registered
1,692 Posts