Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year trying protein patties. Last week I put a regular megabee protein patty on all of my hives. My question is if the patty alone is enough, or should I feed syrup or sugar patties as well for the hives that are light? It is usually warm enough hear in late February and throughout March for the bees to take syrup.

·
Registered
180 Posts
I would think if your concerned about hive weight, you should feed them a bit until your flow starts or they quit taking it. The protein patties will support the brood development that is starting, are they bringing in pollen?....We are behind you in my area by several weeks with temps still in the middling 40's...but my bee's that are flying on the odd day over 50 are bringing in early pollen and so I've put both protein mix and sugar blocks....I may do some supplemental feed when it gets consistently over 50 during the day until we hit our flows...

·
Super Moderator
11,151 Posts
Protein (pollen sub) and sugar syrup (honey) are not interchangeable bee food. Bees need sugar/honey/nectar on an every day basis. Pollen is mostly used by nurse bees when raising brood.

An excellent reference on bee nutrition:
http://www.beeccdcap.uga.edu/documents/CAPArticle10.html

In order to get a good answer to your question, you need to know what the hive already has, so you can determine whether you need to supplement that.

P.S. I think Mark is having a little fun with you. :lookout:

·
Registered
34,542 Posts
If you re-read the question you'll see that it was a two part question. Your "yes" isn't very helpful...
You are correct of course. I was simply answering the question posed in the title of the Thread, figuring that it was the question the Poster wanted an answer to. My fault.

·
Registered
34,542 Posts