Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello
I just got out of my hives this morning and I’m running 2 deeps and had queen excluders on with a couple of supers. There were a bunch of bees in the supers so that was cool but they have not pulled any comb and they were like this for about a month now. I looked into the top deep and the ring were the honey suppose to be in the frames were all open and looked pretty empty. I have since removed the queen excluders, the question I have is should I put my top feeder back on and feed them? This is my first year so not sure about dearth in my area.
Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
764 Posts
Did you see signs that the hive has a queen?IE eggs and sealed brood.You said hives as you have more than one do they all look the same? How Long have the bees been in the hive and what did you start with a package or nuc? It could be Your hive is doing fine and just not finshed with the brood nest.I do not know your area it cloud be they have not finshed the brood nest because you are in a dearth now.If you are not sure about dearth just take a drive around your hive location a few miles and look and see what is blooming.If you do not see much blooming most likely you in dearth.This is what is happening in my area right now.The golden rod bloom will be on soon and that will brong in alot of honey.Some people say queen excluders are honey excluders.The bees may not have like them on.I do not use excluders.I figure if the lay in my honey super they need the room.

·
Registered
4,071 Posts