Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was needing to know how well the queens being shipped fared as far as the condition they are in upon arrival. Overnight prices are so outrageous I was thinking about priority mail but was wondering if they will be cared for or if they will survive and do well if they are in the postal service system for a couple of days. Obviously I have never done this before and it makes me nervous to say the least. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
302 Posts
I ordered 3 queens from Kellys, they arrived in the mail fine. They were shipped priority mail with insurance. They arrived with 4 attendants per package to help care for the queens, all bees were alive and well. I installed them yesterday and have not checked them yet giving them a few days to be released and accepted, hopefully things are well.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I ordered 3 queens from Kellys, they arrived in the mail fine. They were shipped priority mail with insurance. They arrived with 4 attendants per package to help care for the queens, all bees were alive and well. I installed them yesterday and have not checked them yet giving them a few days to be released and accepted, hopefully things are well.
What was the timeline? I noticed you were from Kentucky and Kelley's is there also. I plan on ordering mine from Texas to Arkansas which I admit ain't a great distance but I have less than adequate confidence in the postal service. Hope I am wrong.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Also how long can they survive in the cage before I install her? I heard that I should rub a little water on the cage for them to drink. Just hoping to get this right. Thanks

·
Registered
514 Posts