Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 71 Posts

·
Registered
1,313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So who's self taught?
I mean the ones that had no mentor or class's a father or grandfather just books the internet magazines and BS and hands on.
Me I never saw a hive till I had one never know any one with bees . I just jumped in with both feet and started making mistakes . Now 5 years later I have a sustainable apiary and never have to buy bees again and if I do its for breeding only. I am honey independent witch is awesome and may sell a couple nucs this year. I have the nicest apiary around and am more bee smart then most . Plus I have 1000 plus pics just the best hobby ever.
Hands on best teacher I have found.
And books I bought all them:D you only need one good one and the MAGS. waste of money same old same old year after year. Your best info and help BS and the INTERNET make the internet you mentor it works for me.
And I mean this in the nicest way possible.;)

·
Registered
983 Posts
I am self taught. Always wanted to get into it but never really knew how. I read a bunch of books and asked a lot of questions. I have a agriculture and science background so I am used to doing things with hard work and smarts.

I started with a couple packages and it has grown from there. The first couple years I was flying by the seat of my pants. It was hard to realize what was right and what was wrong. The more and more experience I gained, the easier it became. In the beginning, it would take an hour to inspect one hive. Now I go through 25 hives in 1.5 hours and I rarely do full inspections.

Now beekeeping is part of my life and who I am. I have made so many new friend because of an insect.

·
Registered
2,676 Posts