Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, lovely bee people. I bought a nuc this weekend and think I chose poorly. At the bee yard, all the buyers were supposed to pick out the best nuc and take the ones we wanted. I'm very new to this and just walking close to them in a bee yard with almost 200 hives was really stressful. Let's be honest: there were tears. Anyway eventually I mustered the courage to take off a few tops and just chose the one with the most bees. I couldn't even bring myself to pull frames to look at them. Once I chose that nuc, the seller helped me find the queen and he marked her for me. I noticed when he was doing this that they had built a lot of burr comb, but I didn't say anything because I was so scared and just wanted to get out of there!

When I went to install the frames in my hive, I realized that quite a bit of that burr comb had brood in it. I pretty much have the equivalent of a frame full of brood there! Is there any way to rescue the pupae at this point? I put all the comb I scraped out into Tupperware and set that on the kitchen counter before heading back to work.

Attachments

·
Registered
194 Posts
What type of foundation are you using? Saving those small pieces may prove difficult to gather up and rubber band onto a frame of some sort. If you are going foundation-less in your hive, it would give you a bad template for them to build off of.

You mentioned that you scraped all the comb into a Tupperware and left it in the kitchen. Does this include the brood you are looking to save? If so, it is likely the brood has been chilled and could be dead already.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks, guys. The comb I put in Tupperware did indeed include the stuff with brood in it so it's kaput.