Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What exactly is robbing? I posted an earlier question about entrance feeders and robbing was mentioned. Just want to make sure I'm not hurting my bees with the entrance feeder. Sorry, I'm new to this party.

·
Registered
130 Posts
22's description is accurate, but it's quite scary if you ever see a full on frenzy. 10's of thousands of dead bees, dead hives, and it goes on for days. Avoid it at all costs, and take immediate steps to stop it if it does start.

·
Registered
5,540 Posts
When you're a new beekeeper the specter of robbing - which is a REALLY bad thing -is pretty scary. And the descriptions of it can sound a lot like some other things which are perfectly normal.

Robbing occurs when the bees from one hive (one of yours, or your neighbor's or a free-liviing pack of raiders) finds a poorly defended source of honey. Normally a hive will easily rebuff any foolish honey bee predators that venture too near their entrances. But when you have a new, or a weakened (for any number of reasons) or a very low population the defenders may not be successful in driving off the raiders, espcecially if the prize is very rich and there are a lot of attackers. It is most most common during dearths when there isn't a lot of nectar to be foound and when a hive has already stored up honey for the winter.

Bees will fight to the death to defend their stores and when you have robbing you will not only lose the precious, and irreplaceable to the hive, honey, you can also lose hundreds of bees trying to fight off the robbers. But it's even worse than that. A robbing frenzy whether in one of your hives, or if your own girls turn to crime at some other hive, is an easy way to spread diseases and mites from one colony to another.

So you have to deal with it - and it's easier to have some ideas of how to deal with it ahead of time because it's an emergency when it happens.