Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been needing more foundation as I've used up my old supply. The Dadant shipping was really high so I finally bit the bullet and ordered a box of Rite Cell deep foundation from Amazon. It was cheaper than even direct from Mann Lake plus free shipping too. It was delivered today and when I opened it, well....!

I've always used Dadant foundation and when you open a box it always has this neat beeswax smell, almost kinda sweet, and very pleasant. But when I opened the Rite Cell, it has this rather nasty plastic smell. Not beeswax-y at all. Not pleasant either.

So my question is ... is this how Rite Cell normally smells? I'm worried the bees will object to the odor. If I air it out, will the smell go away?

:scratch:

Rusty

·
Registered
91 Posts
Rusty,
I'm very new at this and may have"screwed-up", but this was our answer to the same problem. I asked the wife to warm some honey, take a basting brush and lightly coat the frames. So far, the bees I put into the new hive/frames haven't gone looking for a new home. Hopefully, someone will chime in with more experiance. memtb

·
Registered
738 Posts
I've always used rite cell, it has a thin wax coating. It will get on your fingers when you press it into the frames. Has kind of a sweet smell. Perhaps what you have is not wax coated.

·
Registered
108 Posts
I started using some rite cell this year and mine didn't have a bad smell. I was told by some commercial guys to put mad extra two coats of wax on each piece. I did and my by are doing okay with them.
Mine came directly from mann lake so I am sure there was nothing wrong with mine.

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·