Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy!

I am new to beekeeping and received my first package of bees (3# italians, italian queen) about 3 weeks ago. I checked on the hive after the first week and the queen had eaten her way out of her box and everything is looking good. I checked the hive again 2 days ago and the right most (looking from the front) 4 frames are busy with activity and look about what I expect from pictures I have seen. The top of each worked frame has open mostly uncapped honey and the middle section of the worked frames have white-ish capped cells that I assume are brood. Around the bottom and the sides are darker yellow capped cells that I assume are pollen.

The beginning instructions I was following for introducing the package bees and queen suggested 2 deep supers with the intro queen box lodged in the bottom of the top super near the middle of the frames. That seemed to work well. On my first visit into the hive after a week I spotted the blue-dotted queen! on only the second frame I looked at.

The odd thing to me is that the bottom super seems to be hardly worked at all and the top super is untouched on one half of the frames (the left half has no sign of any work and has hardly any bee activity). From what I have read, I expected the bottom super to have more of the action and the frames to be worked more from the middle out vice one side. For example, I would say that the right most frame on the top super definitely has the most worked cells and once you get to the middle there is a big drop off.