Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
88 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This has probably been addressed more than a few times, but I'm not very good at doing searches on the forum (I end up down endless bunny trails).

I went into winter with my hives set up as two eight frame deeps under a medium. I added the mediums as a place for the bees to store syrup for winter. They were pretty much solid phoney honey all across by mid October. I plan to start feeding fondant and pollen patties in mid February to get the bees to build up for the spring nectar flow that we get in Maryland. My assumption is that the cluster will be in the medium so I will be feeding on the top bars of the medium. I really want the bees to keep the brood in the two deeps (so I'm not having to go through 24 frames on deep inspections). I suspect that by the time April arrives, the bees are going to be concentrated in the top of the hives where the medium currently resides.

How do I get the bees to move the brood rearing back down into the lower brood boxes? Seems to me that relocating the queen under an excluder placed below the medium is a bit of a risky and draconian approach in April when we can still have cold nights. Just reversing the medium to the bottom of the stack does not seem to get my medium back for honey during the flow. Am I painted into a corner or is there an approach to get the bees where I want them?

Glen

·
Registered
8,193 Posts