Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

Could someone point me in a direction to read up on replacing an existing queen. Im thinking of the references iv read that recommend replacing the queen every fall or every other fall. Or if someone just wants to explain it, thatd be great too!

Thanks

Pablo

·
Registered
2,532 Posts
Order a new queen. The day before she arrives go kill the old queen. When the new queen arrives install her in the hive, inside the cage with candy exposed.

·
Registered
481 Posts
I am not an expert but from what I have read bees will make more than one queen, and this can create a swarming situation if your colony is strong. Also it will take 16 days for the bees to make a new queen and another 2 weeks for the new queen to start laying eggs. So you will lose a month. That being said, my experience is that queen that the bees make is better and no cost to you than a queen brought from elsewhere which may cost $50.

How about making a 5 frame nuc and let the bees make a queen and when this queen start laying remove the old queen and combine the nuc with the new queen to main colony. I don't know whether this is the best method but this is what I am planning to do in August. This way you don't loose any time as the old queens will still be laying until the last minute and if the new queen does not start laying you just keep the old one.

·
Registered
34,542 Posts
Im thinking of the references iv read that recommend replacing the queen every fall or every other fall.
Did any of those references say why they recommended that procedure?

Do you replace the tires on your car every year at Thanksgiving? Or do you replace them when they are worn out? Why don't you replace them every year at Thanksgiving? You'd know that they were in really good shaoe going into winter, wouldn't you?