Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! New to beekeeping. In fact, I don't even have a hive yet...I am starting a top bar hive this spring and am ordering package bees. I'd like to do things the chemical free way but unfortunately, there is zero availability of non-chemically treated bees in my area this season. I have ordered Italian bees elsewhere, although I fear that they won't last long since they aren't a necessarily disease resistant lot (since they were treated with chemicals) Not sure if I'm fretting for nothing, but would it be a terrible idea to requeen a relatively young hive in its first year with a potentially more disease resistant queen who has not been treated?

Any advice would be helpful, I am still learning...

·
Registered
3,477 Posts
If you are going treatment free, the best thing you can do is get treatment free local queens or nucs, or from what ever climate is as close to yours as possible. And yes you can requeen a young colony. However it is more likely that you will be the cause of a colonies demise in the first year than diseases. The first season has a heavy learning curve. Personally I would not stress about it and concentrate on the learning experiance. If they make it to the second season, than split them and bring in what ever queen you see fit or raise one. If not, you got a good education in bees and beekeeping for the small price of a package, plus you will have drawn comb which is a great help to the next colony.

·
Registered
11,729 Posts
Agree with above advise. Also, if you do requeen it, allow them to get established and stabilised first, ie allow the queen that comes with the package to lay eggs at least until there is hatching brood. After that you can requeen it with minimal issues.

Also, if the bees you buy are commercial Italians then yes, they will likely have little mite resistance.