Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'M RELATIVELY NEW TO BEEKEEPING, I HAD A FELLOW PUT ME IN 4 HIVES MAINLY FOR POLINATION AS I'M FARMING 400 ACRES. DO TO LACK OF HIS ATTENTION THEY'RE DOWN TO 1 HIVE, SO IVE DECIDED TO JUMP IN WITH BOTH FEET---HOPE THE WATER WON'T BE TOO DEEP.
ANYWAY A NEIGHBOR AT AN ADJOINING FARM USED TO KEEP BEES, BUT DIED ABOUT 4 YEARS AGO. HE HAD ABOUT 20 HIVES. SINCE HIS DEATH THE HIVES HAVE ALL DIED DUE TO NEGLECT, PROBABLY TRACHEA MITES AND WHATEVER. HIS WIDOW STORED THE HIVES IN A BARN AS THEY DIED. SHE'S AGREED TO SELL THEM TO ME IF WE GET TOGETHER ON A PRICE.
IN TALKING TO AN OLD BEEKEEPER HE SAID I WOULD HAVE TO BOIL THE HIVES IN LYE TO GET RID OF THE MITE EGGS AND THE SMELL OF SOME KINDA BEETLE OR I WOULD NEVER GET THE HIVES TO TAKE BEES.
HOT LYE IS NOT SOMETHING I LOOK FORWARD TO WORKING WITH, IS THIS STANDARD PROCEEDURE, OR IS THERE A LESS CAUSTIC WAY TO RENEW THE HIVES?
I APPRECIATE ANY INFO I CAN GET.
THANKS,,,SHYLOCK3

·
Registered
307 Posts
Sounds a little drastic to me. I think you can just scrape off the excess propolis and burr comb with a hive tool and they will be fine.
the only danger is the possibility of AFB spores, and if that is the case they should be scorched inside with a torch.
Try a couple of hives inittaily and if you don't have a problem with AFB they should be fine. If you do have an AFB problem then treat them or burn them whatever your local laws allow.
I would not pay much for used equipment that has been sitting around for a while with no bees unless I was sure they didn't have any disease problems. Without bees its hard (if nopt impossible) to tell for sure.

·
Vendor
Local feral survivors in eight frame medium boxes.
54,120 Posts
>ALL DIED DUE TO NEGLECT, PROBABLY TRACHEA MITES

Probably Varroa mites.

>HE SAID I WOULD HAVE TO BOIL THE HIVES IN LYE TO GET RID OF THE MITE EGGS