Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I've been beekeeping for a couple of years with mixed success. I'm getting a better handle on managing varroa, and I was just curious if people have times of the year that they'll just automatically treat their hives? Or if they only treat when they know there's a problem?

I'm in San Francisco, and it seems like spring and fall are times that treatment is necessary. Is this generally true? or maybe that just what has happened with my hive in the past year.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
Thanks!

·
Registered
197 Posts
Early autumn (fall) when the summer honey comes off, and midwinter when the colony is broodless. The former protects the overwintering bees properly, the latter means the colony starts the following season with minimal mite numbers. Generally that's all that is needed.

·
Registered
186 Posts
I try to treat on a regular basis before the honey supers go on, when the supers come off, in the fall, and in the winter. I also treat if I have reason to believe there is a problem. I have also started keeping robbing screens on most of the time to limit drifting from feral hives and other beekeepers in the area that do not treat and create mite bombs.

·
Registered
677 Posts
Having only a few hives, I tend to treat more often than other people.

Weekly OAVs until mite drop stops (usually 3-4 times), starting after Chiristmas before New year. I can usually find warm enough days to do this.

Single OAV whenever colonies are broodless due to split.

Formic acid in early September or earlier, while honey supers are still on.

Apivar in October - November, if September treatment was not effective or re-infestation occurred (honey supers off).

·
Registered
1,276 Posts