Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G’day. I’m a hobby beekeeper from Australia. I’m still learning.
My colony’s queen is not a great performer. I was going to squish her and let them make a new one.

I read once that it is a good idea to keep the queen until the new one is mated and laying. I can’t remember where I read that.

Is this sound advice and if yes how exactly do you keep a queen while they make anew one?

·
Registered
2,874 Posts
G'day Backyard. Yes, that is sound advice. If you do not have anywhere for her, put her and 4-5 attendants in a queen cage and place in a dark, warm place such as a closet. Feed a small drop of water daily as well as sugar water. Do not feed them honey which could be contaminated.
There are more ideal set ups, but many have kept a queen this way for as long as you need to. If the hive has adequate brood, you could put her in a small 2 frame nuc made of stores, capped brood and young bees. You will have to feed and let them expand or combine back with mother hive once the new queen is up and running. J

·
Registered
554 Posts
It's Spring there, just move her with a frame of stores and brood to a 2 framer, or 5 frame with follower boards, or blank foundation, they will make a new one or 5 or 6.

·
Registered
Two 8-frame Langstroth hives
216 Posts
Hi Backyard Beekeeper, where about are you in Western Australia? It’s a pretty big state :). There are a few more sandgropers here.

·
Registered
2,276 Posts
BIf she is a poor performer I would try to buy a new queen. Better genetics. But keep the old queen in a nuc box. When she lays up a frame move it into the main hive.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I too would buy a new queen from a reputable breeder and requeen the colony.