Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My package install is without a queen. At this point I am contemplating re-queening, providing I can find one, or combining with my NUC install. My NUC is really strong. I was getting ready to install another deep for brood. Combining would give me the second deep with some bees and produce a even stronger hive and move it closer to honey production.

Looking for other opinions on this. Suggestions? Thoughts?

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thought of that. But since I am new to this, I wasn't sure how to tell how recent the eggs would be since they need to be no more than 3 days of age.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I also think I am fighting the clock on this. I have thought all along that my queen left early. I wasn't seeing any eggs or brood like I do in my NUC. I finally got a separate set of eyes on it today to confirm what I thought. All the bees are busy bring in pollen and making honey and building more comb, there are no eggs or brood. The hive is now a month old. My guess is that I will start loosing bees due to age in a couple of weeks and not sure if another queen can be produced fast enough and begin laying eggs in time to save the colony. Am I wrong on this?

·
Registered
25 Posts
Combine if you can't get a queen immediately. No good will come from waiting 21+ days for your colony to produce a laying queen from donor eggs.

·
Registered
177 Posts
You could always give the failing hive a frame of brood or two every week. It will boost their numbers, they can make a queen and it won't really cost you hive too much in resources. I would hate for you to be down to one hive and get stuck in a situation where another hive could help remedy it.

·
Registered
2,977 Posts