Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm a fairly new hobbyist beekeeper and am looking for some various ways to re-liquefy granulated honey. From inexpensive methods for hobbyists, home built clarifiers, to perhaps buying or building a nice efficient/effective clarifier.

I produce 500 + pounds and may do more at some point. Usually poured into 5 gal buckets and then bottled from there. I know about bee supply heat belts for buckets (I have one for 5 gal) and drums, and bottling tanks, but the nice store bought bottling tanks can get pricy for my budget at this point. Also, and this is a main dilemma, after I have bottled up a few cases the honey will sometimes granulate or crystalize before I have the opportunity to sell it. What do you experienced guys do to liquefy your buckets and multiple case quantities of already jarred honey?

Have you built a way cool clarifier for 5 gal. buckets and moreover for multiple jars of honey? Oh, and I guess importantly, I'm trying to keep from using high heat as most people are looking for "raw, natural" honey.

I would appreciate your input,

-Desmond

·
Registered
12,094 Posts
Re the jared liquid honey, if you can keep it in a deep freeze it will not granulate.

·
Registered
3,062 Posts
Bottled a warm box will keep it a long time.. a refrigerator with light bulb (not cooling) After its crystilized I find our hot tub to be about perfect for buckets. I have a large home made wooden box with a small space heater for drums.

·
Registered
7 Posts