Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year beekeeping and I live in Brooklyn.

My first question is how many boxes should they overwinter in?
Currently I have two deeps and one super on. The super is nearly completely full of capped honey and there's some in the upper deep but last I checked there was still mostly brood in the deeps. Will they move the honey down eventually? When will brood rearing stop? It hasn't gotten very cold yet and this week especially it's been warm but that could change quickly.

My second question is should I be feeding them?

My final question is what should I do in the way of hive insulation, wrapping, ventilation?
I've seen a lot of different things so I'm not sure what is necessary going into winter.

This is my first time posting a question so I apologize if I've made mistakes in what/how I ask. Let me know if I should post this differently.
Thanks!

·
Registered
7,975 Posts
This is my first year beekeeping and I live in Brooklyn.

My first question is how many boxes should they overwinter in?
Currently I have two deeps and one super on. The super is nearly completely full of capped honey and there's some in the upper deep but last I checked there was still mostly brood in the deeps. Will they move the honey down eventually? When will brood rearing stop? It hasn't gotten very cold yet and this week especially it's been warm but that could change quickly.

My second question is should I be feeding them?

My final question is what should I do in the way of hive insulation, wrapping, ventilation?
I've seen a lot of different things so I'm not sure what is necessary going into winter.

This is my first time posting a question so I apologize if I've made mistakes in what/how I ask. Let me know if I should post this differently.
Thanks!