Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am a 15 year old freshman in southern New Jersey. I currently have about 75 hives (maybe I should say 30 hives and 45 nucs). I am planning to expand to 500 hives in the next five years.

My main goal in beekeeping is to set up a horizontal bee breeding program with a gene pool backed by thousands of possible breeders. This sounds a long way off but I dream big and work hard.

My questions are these:

-Is college necessary? If so I would likely take courses on business management, entomology, and genetics. Are these good choices?

-Where are good places to buy queens that come from a wide gene pool? I was pleased with the Purvis Brothers operation.

-At what point should I go from a 3 frame to a 120 frame extractor? Honey crops in this area are not large, 45 lbs a hive is good. Pollination is where the money is here, you can get three $70 contracts a year. My current honey house has a tank that can hold 18 uncapped frames to speed up the process and a stainless steel tank that can hold 1500 lbs of honey.

Anything helps,

Tim Stewart
Stewart's Apiaries

·
Registered
2,274 Posts
When you're extracting 75 hives you'll need at least a 20-30 frame extractor, but you're planning on growing so I'd look at a 60 framer like the Dadant. Many commercial guys are using 1 or more of the 60's. GO TO COLLEGE! If you're really planning on a beekeeping career, then take biology/entomology with maybe some electives in business. The way you're going you will probably know more about business than the professors anyway! Good job so far!!! :D

·
Registered
22 Posts