Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,227 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will likely have to build some more deeps fairly soon. I have a huge supply of 1X cypress that I'll have to edge glue to get the proper width. This is not a huge deal and the lumber was free. I am contemplating the idea of using a Porter Cable dovetail jig for the joints. It also can be used for finger joints. In the past I built many medium honey supers and I used a quick and dirty dado and screws. I've been using several for a few years and they hold up well but they are not in service all yer long and they don't take the long term abuse that my deeps do. If anyone can offer any tips or advice for a dove tail jig for these boxes I would greatly appreciate this.
Thanks

·
Registered
34,542 Posts
Most bee boxes I have seen are made w/ finger joints, not dovetail joints or butt/lap joints. Dovetail joints are too fancy for bee boxes and I wouldn't want to nail such a joint.

Besides, finger joints can be cut on a table saw.

·
Registered
357 Posts
I have made boxes using the same jig and they are very strong. I try not to make them too tight that way I can leave room for glue. Only nail or screw in one direction. They do look nice too.:)

·
Registered
34,542 Posts
They sure do. Good job. Forget what I wrote. Go for it. But don't paint the boxes or no one will know.

·
Registered
21 Posts
I make them that way as well using an old Stanley jig. I like the way they look. So far the oldest are 2 years old and holding

·
Registered
3,433 Posts
Those will work fine. Box joints aren't very difficult to cut on a table saw, search for how to make a jig. Did two boxes tonight, I'm in the mood and the mower are all out of service at the moment -- not that I won't have to cut hay this weekend, but right now I have some time. Need to make a pile of shallows.