Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi im new to beekeeping im just wondering how do you clean your bottom boards without the removable screen bottom boards, btw im using screened bottom boards with easy access in bottom of hive, im planning to switch with the non screen bottom board just plain bottom board, do bees clean their debris or it will stay there? im just wondering because when i check the removable bottom board im seeing a lot of debris from them pollen poop sugar wax body parts etc do they clean them or you have to clean it? thanks a lot

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,209 Posts
hi im new to beekeeping im just wondering how do you clean your bottom boards without the removable screen bottom boards, btw im using screened bottom boards with easy access in bottom of hive, im planning to switch with the non screen bottom board just plain bottom board, do bees clean their debris or it will stay there? im just wondering because when i check the removable bottom board im seeing a lot of debris from them pollen poop sugar wax body parts etc do they clean them or you have to clean it? thanks a lot
"normally" a healthy hive will clean out the debris on there own over time.
A regular solid bottom board will allow dragging out of the debris.

If you go into the hive, and get down to the bottom, I generally take it away from the hive (20 feet) and sweep/scrape it off. and replace. If I suspect it will be really dirty, I may take a new one and replace, then scrape wash, dry, bleach repaint etc. later.

pollen can fall and be normal.
bee parts point to something, like a shrew eating bees, not really expected to be there.
Poop is also not supposed to be there, bees should poop outside the hive. may need to research Nosema and Dysentery to better understand what to look for .

Wax is ok, sugar in crystals they would haul out if they find them.