Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Installed 2 packages saw both queens and eggs and larvae on May 11. May 25 one hive doing great loads of capped brood saw queen other hive no queen, no eggs, no larvae and 6 or so queen cells all capped. Plan is to see if I get a viable queen from cells and if I do swap a frame of brood from good hive to prop up new queen hive. Does this sound like a ok plan? I'm a noob so any advice is welcome

·
Registered
963 Posts
Sounds like a good plan. I'd get rid of all but the best 2 queen cells though. The first one out should dispose of the others. But, what if they all emerge close t ogather. Allot of fighting, who wins, and what if all end up damaged. With 2 ,1 will surely get mated

·
Registered
306 Posts
Sounds like a good plan to me. 👍 be sure and give her plenty of time to mate - I’d wait 2 weeks after emergence before the first egg check.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the responses. I saw other references to cull the number down but am wondering if it's better to just stay out of there since I'm not sure on timing of emergence, and it's 3 more days past, and just leave them alone for 2 weeks

·
Registered
346 Posts
First package I had did the same thing, lose queen she wasnt a great one. Let them make a queen and she turned out to be amazing, very docile and prolific layer. Best luck.

·
Registered
7,822 Posts
I didn't read the initial post very well....and my reply was not appropriate.
Edit to remove.

·
Registered
306 Posts
Thanks for the responses. I saw other references to cull the number down but am wondering if it's better to just stay out of there since I'm not sure on timing of emergence, and it's 3 more days past, and just leave them alone for 2 weeks