Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I split my hive a couple weeks ago, simple walk away split with help from info here. Good news, the new hive that was queenless has three queen cells and the hive is humming.

Now, the original hive where I split from is queenright and is absolutely stuffed with bees again, and I think this is a queen cup (on the right) with a larva. There is definitely a larva. Is this a swarm cell and could it be I need to split again to avoid a swarm? I am a beginner, but I have never seen so many bees in a hive.

q cup.jpg

·
Super Moderator
Aylett, VA 10-frame double deep Langstroth
6,537 Posts
If that queen cup is charged, it is a swarm cell in the making. You need to split out the original queen into a nuc and let it play out. Read up on fly back splits as this is the best way to go in this situation IMO.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Royal Jelly and swarming goes hand and hand. Did you give the Queen right colony drawn comb or foundation ? Foundation to be drawn out
may slow them down a bit ?!

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I gave the queenright colony drawn comb. My hope was to get some honey from the hive. But it sounds like the bees have other ideas. I am going to split again, today or tomorrow, whenever the weather cooperates.

On the plus side, I feel really good that I caught this before it happened, and since the package of bees I ordered was canceled this should give me the 3rd colony I was hoping to have. Now......I just hope I don't screw up the split! :)

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I have two deep boxes and a honey super on this hive separated by a queen excluder. Both deeps are completely built out. Brood is booming, and there are still stores left from over winter and feeding from earlier in the month. I have not fed in 2 weeks. The honey super is about 75% built out but empty.

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,220 Posts