Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first year as a beekeeper and its been a bit of a mixed bag.
I wasn't able to harvest any honey this year, not sure if the Georgia weather had something to do with that, and the bees didnt fill all the frames .
The queens laying pattern hasn't been great, very patchy and quite weak.
After a two week break i opened the hive this week to find that there are very few eggs being layed. To top off the misery there was a ****roach running around, a dead hornet and 80-100 dead bees.

Now im worried that i wont have enough of a hive to get me through winter.
Should i replace the queen now or should i give her a week to settle down and start laying again?

Ive been feeding for the past week and have now put the entrance reducer in place. Is that enough?

any help for this Newbie would be appreciated

·
Registered
346 Posts
I would say requeen now. You have done the right thing so far reduce the entrance and feed. Spotty laying isnt a good queen.

·
Registered
1,186 Posts
That's a very sick hive, and it is in a lot of trouble. Depending on your local climate, it might be too late for any success, so check with locals, but to rescue it you need to;
-Treat for mites
-Add a frame or 2 of brood and nurses from a healthy hive.
-feed it
-Requeen it

Or if it's too late per the locals, cut your losses now (Better to take your losses in the fall than in the spring) and start off with a new locally made package or nuc in the spring.

·
Premium Member
Aylett, VA 10-frame double deep Langstroth
6,888 Posts
Barnyard Bees is just an hour and a half north of you. Might be worth the trip to pick up a new queen and an OAV vaporizer.

·
Registered
4,646 Posts
>The queens laying pattern hasn't been great, very patchy and quite weak.

Would you say the pattern is spotty?

A hive that does not expand during a flow has a problem. Post pictures of your brood.

·
Registered
8 Posts