Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been beekeeping for 6 years and haven't seen this happen before. Had 10 hives coming out of 2018 with 2018 queens. In May, the hives started replacing the 2018 queens with 2019 queens. Then a month later, those new queens, were replaced again by new 2019 queens. I did see on the average about 2 to 4queen cells at different locations on the frames and I didn't notice any of the hives swarmed. I treated with Apiguard in August of last year and oxalic acid vaporization in December. The hives are 1 hive deep with 2 honey supers on all 10 hives. Any ideas fellow beekeepers?

·
Registered
5 ,8 ,10 frame, and long Lang
2,002 Posts
I have been beekeeping for 6 years and haven't seen this happen before. Had 10 hives coming out of 2018 with 2018 queens. In May, the hives started replacing the 2018 queens with 2019 queens. Then a month later, those new queens, were replaced again by new 2019 queens. I did see on the average about 2 to 4queen cells at different locations on the frames and I didn't notice any of the hives swarmed. I treated with Apiguard in August of last year and oxalic acid vaporization in December. The hives are 1 hive deep with 2 honey supers on all 10 hives. Any ideas fellow beekeepers?
the hives are doing a supercedure, it is a natural way they replace the Queen.

·
Registered
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I understand that Gray Goose but to replace 2018 queens with 2019 queens and then again a month later replace those 2019 queens on 10 hives seems a bit to much.

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
Thanks to the crazy spring we didn't even have significant numbers of drones until the end of May. Is it possible that the first round of queens were poorly mated?

·
Registered
6,055 Posts
Are you doing any kind of checkerboarding around the brood nest or perhaps giving them a bit too much space?