Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After looking at several You Tube videos of bee installations I notice that several people put their queen in the hive to release later. We were taught at the University to do a direct release of the queen that comes in our package (after we shake the bees into the hive). It was my understanding that you do a direct release of the queen when you receive a bee package and then next year, after I divide my hive and order a queen, then the queen is placed in her box inside the hive only to be released slowly after the bees accept her. Is that correct? Should I anticipate any problems directly releasing the queen after I install the bees on Thursday?

·
Registered
58 Posts
This is my first year keeping bees, so don't think I'm giving expert advice here... This is just what makes sense to me.

When you put a new queen in an established (but queenless) hive, it seems to be the practice to release her after three or four days if the bees haven't done so.

A package of bees has usually been exposed to the queen at least a few days, maybe a week or slightly more. They know her. I can't see that immediate release of a package queen is any different than leaving a new queen in an established hive for three days and then releasing her.

OTOH, it may be safer to let the package bees get used to their new home before letting them get at the queen. Just sort of give them a chance to settle in before releasing her so she doesn't get blamed for the disruption. Based on that thought, I chose to leave my queen in her cage, expose the candy, and check on her three days later (as in: I can't wait to get off work so I can go home and see if they've let her out!). I think it might be an unnecessary precaution, but I'm playing it safe.

·
Registered
196 Posts