Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had a slow start with one of my three hives. Long story short, the hive made a new queen and she started laying in a hive with many drone cells about three weeks+ ago. There has been capped brood but not much. Last evening I inspected and again.... some new capped brood but not in a very good pattern and very little of it,.. some larvae but very little. There are still drones...lots of them in the hive. Some of the capped worker brood was also hatching. Continued inspecting...
I am new at this but I found the queen I think....long body especially rear. Not wide like drones and not small like workers. Seemed to be surrounded by attendants.
I moved some of the bees to get a better look and she flew off? I know, dumb newbee thing to do right? Is she gone for good?
If so, how the heck do I know? I want to replace her anyway. I believe I should order a new one bc it is too late to wait for the bees to replace her and I want this hive to survive winter.
How do i introduce new one if i can't find old Q who may or may not be gone?
Another option, I have a late Nuc/start hive which is doing very well now. Would i be better off Combining them? How about the queen issue again? I am just not real good at finding/identifying queens so I am afraid I'll lose both if not careful.

Oh and i got my first stings while inspecting my good hive, right through the suit on the elbow and just above the long glove extension on the forearm. Just a small amount of swelling.
I am officially initiated and I am wearing my stings wounds proudly. Guess I am not allergic.
One more thing. On a positive note, i took my first frame of honey ever off my good hive. It was capped and bulging fat. Had to crush and strain and filtered with one of those nylon bags but filled a 4 lb queenline jar with one Med.frame. Is that a lot of honey ?