Beesource Beekeeping Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been hearing mixed reviews about the use of Queen excluders. Many people don't like them because they think it blocks most bees. If I drilled a hole in the supers above the excluder, would that help? (Giving them an upper entrance) This is my first year and I would rather play it safe and use the excluder.

·
Registered
3,021 Posts
Queen excluders don't block bees, they go through it just fine once they get used to it being there. They must have a reason to go above the excluder, like a super of empty drawn comb, or a super with at least a couple drawn combs and the rest foundation. A super of nothing but foundation is normally not enough of a reason for most colonies to cross an excluder, however some will do it better than others. Many times a hive with all brood frames drawn and being used, and a booming population of bees will go right through the excluder to draw a box of foundation, but sometimes they don't and try to swarm instead. An upper entrance probably won't help much with a box of foundation, drawn comb, yes.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
All that I have in the super is 9 frames of foundation...i might visit my bee supplier and see if I can get some empty comb frames from him.

·
Registered
3,021 Posts
What are you using for the brood nest, and how is the population of bees in the hive? When you open the hive, are there lots of bees between every frame of the brood nest?

·
Registered
147 Posts
To me it doesn't hurt if i get some brood in a super. I can't tell the difference in honey. Some say it makes it a little darker if its in brood comb bit i like the different color honey any way. That is a good idea to get some drawn comb if you can. I don't have a problem with excluder but they need to be started in the box above it before you add the excluder.